Students, staff and faculty whose outstanding contributions to the campus community have been recognized by the President. 

Student Awards

Humboldt State University Permanent Collection Award

Staff Awards

*The Staff Recognition Award nomination deadline has been extended by the Staff Council to October 3, 2018 at 5:00 p.m.

Staff Recognition Award Recipients

Nomination Procedure and Review Process

Faculty Awards

Excellence in Teaching Award (Tenure-line faculty)

Excellence in Teaching Award (Lecturer) 

Outstanding Professor Award

Outstanding Service Award

Scholar of the Year Award

Nomination Procedure and Review Process

Honorary Degrees Presented by Humboldt State

  • Homer P. Balabanis, Doctor of Fine Arts 6/15/1985
  • George N. Blake, Doctor of Humane Letters 10/11/2016  - View ceremony  View gallery event
  • Michael Fielding, Doctor of Humane Letters 5/17/2008
  • Fred. B. Galbreath, Doctor of Science 5/20/1995
  • Monica P. Hadley, Doctor of Humane Letters 5/16/1998
  • Robert N. Klein, Doctor of Laws 5/12/2012
  • Gwynna M. Morris, Doctor of Humane Letters 5/18/2002
  • Louis W. Schatz, Doctor of Science 5/21/1994
  • Cheryl Seidner, Doctor of Humane Letters 5/17/2008
  • Monroe E. Spaght, Doctor of Laws 6/4/1965
  • Herrmann Spetzler, Doctor of Humane Letters 5/17/2014

President's Distinguished Service Award Recipients

The Distinguished Service Award is granted for specific and meritorious service to the University and/or the community.

YearNameTitleMore Comments
1967Susie Baker FountainFirst HSU graduateAwarded upon her gift to the University of the Susie Baker Fountain Papers
1968Frank P. BelottiAssemblyman, Second District 
1969Division Chairmen In appreciation of service when the University reorganized from Divisions to Schools
1973Olga Marie SiemensPresident's wifeIn appreciation on occasion of the 20th anniversary of CHS service to HSU
1975Fred J. Moore, Jr.County Clerk of Humboldt CountyIn appreciation for his many acts of friendship and assistance to the University
1976Louise WatsonProfessor of Health and Physical EducationUpon her retirement
1976Homer BalabanisVice President for Academic Affairs emeritus 
1977Charles FulkersonProfessor of Music emeritusHSU orchestra conductor
1979Gordon T. HadleyChairman, HSU Advisory Board 
1979Roy T. BrophyChairman, CSU Board of Trustees 
1985Dolores VellutiniChair, HSU Advisory Board; Humboldt Area Foundation 
1985George H. Allen Establishment of Oceanography program; developed graduate program in Fisheries and Arcata Marsh Project. In respect and tribute for his manifold academic and personal qualities, and services which have contributed so much to the quality of life in our society and which have further ennobled our University
1987Jack F. Daly, Jr.Past Chair, HSU Advisory Board; past chair California State Automobile AssociationFor all his diverse civic efforts, which are too numerous to cite here, but particularly for his successful efforts toward bringing the University and the local community into a closer and mutually supportive communion
1988Marianne PinchesMember, Humboldt Symphony since 1934 
1990Dick EnbergHadley Distinguished Lecturer; NBC Sports Commentator 
1991John C. HennessyProfessor of History emeritusSenior Administrator Emeritus
1995Raymond A. Koch, M.D. In recognition of medical services to HSU athletics. For all his continuing acts of assistance and support, and particularly for his positive efforts toward promoting the health and success of our student athletes
1995Sam B. Merryman, Jr. For all his manifold acts of assistance and support, and particularly for his positive efforts toward advancing the success of Humboldt State University
1996C. Leland Barlow, D.M.A. For all his continuing acts of assistance and support, and particularly for his positive efforts toward promoting choral music performance and student scholarships
1997Don H. Clausen Services to University and community as a U.S. Congressman
1999Cedric Kinzer For all his frequent and continuing acts of assistance and support toward promoting the health, well being and success of student athletes and others both on campus and in the community
1999Leslie Douglas, D. V. M. In recognition of services to University instructional and research programs. For all his frequent and continuing acts of assistance and support regarding care and appropriate use of university animals in our instructional and research programs, for his inimitable leadership and service to the University as a member and chair of the Humboldt State University Foundation, and for his manifold services to the civic community of with the University is a part
2001Gwynna Morris For her very effective service to Humboldt State University as a member of the University Advisory Board 1993-2001 and for her service to the California State University as a representative of the students, staff and faculty of Humboldt State University as a member of the CSU Alumni Council since 1993 and as President of the CSU Alumni Council from 1997 to 1999
2001Ken Stodder For nearly 40 years of continuing acts of assistance and support, and particularly for his positive efforts in communicating to the public the essence of athletic events and programs both on campus and in the Humboldt County community
2002Judith Saari McCrone For her very effective service to Humboldt State University as First Lady from 1974-2002 and for her services to the Humboldt and Del Norte county communities through her many acts of generosity and kindness
2004Dr. Reese Halter In recognition of inimitable leadership in redwood canopy biological research
2010Dr. Steven Butler  
2013Dr. Robert GearhartProfessor Emeritus, Environmental Resources EngineeringIn recognition of his tireless contributions to HSU and its students, the community and the world. Dr. Gearhart has enriched the quality of water for peoples around the world.
2013President Emeritus Alistair McCrone For nearly 40 years of service and support to Humboldt State University and the community as President and President Emeritus
2014Provost Robert A. Snyder For outstanding leadership and commitment to high standards in education since 1987. Presented upon his retirement.